Log in


Log in

Our History

Prather Park, Highland Park, Tx

Park Cities Historical Society

The Park Cities Historical Society was founded by Mrs. Gordon R. Dysart on February 8, 1982, following discussions with residents who felt the need to preserve the heritage of their unique community. A group of friends were invited to the home of Mr. & Mrs. Dysart, 3413 Cornell Avenue, to participate in the organization of the Society. The purpose of the Society and the benefits to the Park Cities in the future were discussed. The group was in unanimous agreement to form the Society and the basic structure was adopted.

Those attending and contributing to the meeting were:

Mrs. Reuben H. Adams
Mr. & Mrs. Pierce M. Allman
Mr. & Mrs. Wilson W. Crook, Jr.
Mrs. Tom Moore Dees
Mr. & Mrs. Edward J. Drake
Mr. & Mrs. Gordon R. Dysart
Mr. & Mrs. Richard Finlay
Mr. & Mrs. Henry Gilchrist
Mrs. Ann Reed Dittmar
Mrs. Phillip Gray John
Mrs. Arthur Shannon
Mr. & Mrs. Jerry S. Stover
Mrs. Marjorie B. Waters

Articles of Incorporation were duly filed on March 29, 1982.

Since its founding, the Society was active in three different areas of historical interest. An extensive photographic survey of the Park Cities' residences was completed and stored in the Society's archives. As an accompaniment to the survey, a landmark designation program for buildings and sites has been instituted with the first designation in December 1986. In addition, an educational program about the history and heritage of the Park Cities was developed and implemented in the community.

Preservation Park Cities (Prior to Merger)

Preservation Park Cities was organized by area residents concerned about the loss of architecturally significant older homes and buildings in the community.

The motto "Preserving the legacy and character of our community" reflected the organization's mission which was to encourage the preservation of older structures and the appropriate design of newer constructions.

Preservation Park Cities strived to build a foundation of historic sensitivity in the Park Cities by identifying specifics structures that are worth saving, and by communicating their historical significance to the community.

The organization encouraged homeowners to preserve their older homes and protect them into the future and worked towards creating an environment in which respectful and responsible building practices are actively embraced.

The Preservation Park Cities historic marker program honored and recognized older or historic homes in HP and UP that retained most of their original architectural details. While changes are inevitable over time, the goal of the program was to acknowledge and honor these properties. The marker did not carry any restrictions for homeowners. The design was a replica of the Spanish-style gate entrances to the old Loma Linda development. Architect David Williams built these Moorish structures and accompanying walls along Mockingbird Lane and Preston Road in 1924.

Park Cities Historic and Preservation Society

In 2006 the Historical Society and Preservation Park Cities recognized that they were working for similar purposes and merged. Together the organizations have recognized over 180 homes and building sites, through rigorous valuation, with bronze plaques posted on each site. The current community-led Society is an active, cohesive organization that continues to protect and promote the historic, architectural, cultural and aesthetic legacy of the Park Cities.

Preservation Park Cities

In 2021, as a result of a new branding initiative, the Board of Directors decided to change the name back to Preservation Park Cities. The new (old) name is more consistent with other organizations that share the same goal (Preservation Dallas, Preservation Austin) in addition to being more recognizable to the general public.

Past Presidents

Park Cities Historical Society

1982-1983 Lucy Cary Dysart
1983-1984 Pierce Allman
1984-1985 Lindalyn Adams
1985-1986 Bob Littlejohn
1986-1987 Edward Drake
1987-1988 Lynn Vogt
1988-1989 Lynn Vogt
1989-1990 Tie Davis
1990-1991 Gordon Dysart
1991-1992 Taylor Armstrong
1992-1993 Sylvia LaRue
1993-1994 Pat Sreenan
1994-1995 Mary Shoemaker
1995-1996 Trevor Rees-Jones
1996-1997 Henry Gilchrist
1997-1998 John H. Cockrell, Jr.
1998-1999 Betty Tatum
1999-2000 Bob Littlejohn
2000-2001 Carole McBride
2001-2002 Kathy Myers
2002-2003 MaryAnn Edney
2003-2004 Jan Harbour
2004-2005 Carolyn Rogers
2005-2006 Taylor Armstrong

Park Cities Historic and Preservation Society

2002 Michael K. Matthews
2003 JoAnna Barnes
2004 JoAnna Barnes
2005 Lee Roever
2006 Peter Tanguy

Preservation Park Cities

2006-2007 Lee Roever
2007-2008 Meredy McClure
2008-2009 Cynthia Beaird
2009-2010 Sandra Cude
2010-2011 Bruce Harbour
2011-2012 Harry Shawver
2012-2013 Mike Tibbals
2013-2014 Al McClendon
2014-2015 Joan Clark
2015-2016 Kendall Jennings
2016-2017 Cynthia Beaird
2017-2018 Lucinda Buford
2018-2019 Venise Stuart
2019-2020 Marla Boone
2020-2021 Polly McKeithen & Jana Paul
2021-2022 Tish Key
2022-2023 Burton Rhodes
2023-2024 Amy Beale


25 Highland Park Village #100-286
Dallas, TX 75205
a 501(C)(3) organization

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software